There are several approaches to collecting literature on your topic for your assignments.
The best way to start your search for information is in Saxion Library, physical or online. But why start at the library?
To put it shortly, the library is a valuable starting point to look for reliable information to support your research or assignment.
Good to know
The digital library contains e-books and articles from databases. Keep in mind that databases and e-books are licensed just for Saxion Library. Therefore staff and students have to use their Saxion userID and password to get access. You have Triple A access to the digital library: Anytime, Anyplace, Anywhere.
Some of the resources in the digital library are Open Access. This means that anyone can access this resource. For other resources which are licensed to Saxion Library you have to log in. Use your Saxion userID and password.
Saxion Library has many resources to support teaching, learning and researching.
In the catalogue you can find all the resources Saxion Library owns. To begin your research this is the best place to start searching for information. You can start at:
Most of the physical books you can borrow for three weeks, physical journals you can read in the library.
Standard the search box is set on 'Discovery', switch to 'Catalogue' is you want to search for only (e-)books.
Discovery is an all-in-one search tool and lets you search the catalogue of Saxion Library, but it allows you to also search simultaneousley across most of the databases licensed to Saxion Library.
Through Discovery, you will find links to full-text articles, (e-)books and (e-)journal titles. The local collection is presented first.
NOTE:
An overview of all the databases of Saxion Library can be found here.
The visual below displays the differences and similarities between searching in the catalogue and searching with Discovery.
If you go on a search for articles, it is useful to install the browser extension Lean Library. After installing Lean Library, a small icon is placed in your browser.
On campus you will be automatically connected to the network of Saxion. Off campus Lean Library will support the connection to the network of Saxion. This tool ensures that you can access digital resources anywhere when licensed to Saxion Library. Whether abroad, sitting around the corner in a café or just at home, no worries! When you find an article on the Internet, you will get a pop-up notification. Now you can click through and can start reading the full-text of the article if the article is within the license of Saxion Library. If not, Lean Library will search for an open access version of the article if available.
You can read more about Lean Library at Home access to databases where you can also download the browser extension.
Don't hesitate to download Lean Library, it's free of charge because you are a Saxion student.